Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Life at Cochin University

Cochin University of Science and Technology (CUSAT) is an autonomous science and technology university in Cochin, Kerala, India. It is a government owned university. It has three campuses: two in Cochin and one in Kuttanad, Alappuzha.

The university gives degrees in engineering and science subjects at the undergraduate, postgraduate and doctorate levels. About 6520 students are engaged yearly in the undergraduate and postgraduate program at the university. CUSAT is placed among the best universities in the world. The CUSAT Results decide the quality of placements at the institute.


The motto of the university is "Tejasvinavadhithamastu", which means, "May the wisdom accrued deify us both — the teacher and the taught - and percolate to the universe in its totality" which is taken from the Vedas.


The university has three campuses in total:
  •  At Cochin, 
  • At Pulinkunnu, Kuttanad. 

Main Campus (Trikakkara Campus) 

The main campus is in Kalamassery. It is an 180-acre campus which consists of the Administrative office, the Central Library, Computer Centre, departments, labs, workshops, School of Engineering's, canteens, guest house, hostels, and playgrounds etc. The Administrative office facilitates and coordinates all the activities of the departments. The Central Library which is fully computerized is a central source of information for the academic block of the CUSAT. The Computer Center provides free internet service to the students. The campus has the buildings of the other departments. The SOE campus has divisions of engineering, labs, and workshops. The Siberia campus block consists of classrooms for engineering as well as a new lab building (NLB) which has department centers and labs. The campus has a Triveni Coffee House as well and other canteens. There are three men's hostels and they are: Siberia, Sarovar and Sanathana — and five women's hostels and they are: Aishwarya, Anashwara, Athulya, Anaga, and Ananya.

 Lakeside Campus 

The Lakeside Campus is about 12 km away from the Main Campus and is set in Cochin City. It consists of the School of Ocean Science and Technology, School of Industrial Fisheries, Department of Atmospheric Sciences, Department of Chemical Oceanography, Department of Marine Biology, Microbiology and Biochemistry, Department of Marine Geology and Geophysics and Department of Physical Oceanography. The School of Marine Sciences consists of a library that is regarded as the largest marine science libraries in Asia and a research section for coastal water studies. The school has an academic section as well with other universities and research institutes in India and outside.

Pulincunnu Campus 

The Pulincunnu campus is in Kuttanad that is 65 km away from the Main Campus. It is the house for the Cochin University College of Engineering, Kuttanad ( CUCEK) and the Cochin University College of Computer Applications (CUCCA). The campus has scenic beauty, temples, and churches.


Cochin University has hostel accommodation for around 600 male and 700 female students that are registered for Undergraduate/ Postgraduate / Research studies.

The Main Campus consists of:
  1.    Sanathana, Siberia, Sarovar and Post metric hostels for boys (Men's Hostels) 
  2.   Aishwarya, Athulya, Anaswara, and Post metric hostels for girls (Ladies' Hostels)  
  3.   OBC Post Metric Hostel for Girls (Ladies' Hostel) 

The Lakeside Campus consists of:
  1.  Cochin University Marine Science Campus Hostel Men's Hostel 

The Campus Cafe is open from 8.00 A.M. to 8.00 P.M. on all working days including Saturdays which is easily accessible for the students. A wide variety of South Indian and North Indian dishes are available there. During lunch time Meals are available at very nominal rates for the students.


The physical Education department is functioning in the campus in a very smooth manner. Various sports activities are conducted in the campus with the participation of the colleges from different parts of the state and countries. This helps the students to participate in various activities depending upon their choices.

Student Welfare 

The university consists of the Department of Youth Welfare which is a formal platform to design and implement the youth policies that include the issues related to motivation, participation, promotion and socio-economic and cultural settings within which young people grow up. The Department acts as a driving force for the student and youth community to watch their academic excellence through doing and learning. The department takes care of various aspects of student welfare like students counseling, training, NSS, NCC, government, and nongovernment sponsored youth projects, financial aid & scholarships, health care, games & sports, cultural activities etc.


The university organizes various Cultural Programs and activities. Various cultural events like University Youth Festival, Talent Time, and Anchorage etc. are conducted in the campus with the full participation of the colleges throughout the country.


Almost 90 % of CUSAT B.Tech students have been placed through campus recruitment drive every year. The maximum package offered is Rs 12 lakh per annum and the average annual pay package is Rs 4.82 lakhs.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.